January 2010

S M T W T F S
      1 2
3 456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
violet_angel: (em tongue)
Saturday, January 2nd, 2010 05:48 pm
The US Postal LACK-OF-Service that is. (And all you people who think they're awesome can SUCK IT! If they put their money and effort into actually DELIVERING THE MAIL rather than sponsoring teams and individuals, they might actually be a good thing. As it is, they've forgotten what they're supposed to do. And insist on raising our rates to do what they're NOT meant to do.)

Seriously, who the FUCK delivers ANYTHING (besides an ordered breakfast, that's another story) to a home before 9am on a SATURDAY?????? Apparently my package carrier. At 8:47 my bell rang. I saw the outline of a mail truck out on the street through the curtain, so I jumped up and threw on some pj pants and a sweatshirt and ran to the door. Yelling does no good as there are 3 doors between me and the stoop. The process took LESS THAN TWO MINUTES bur by the time I opened the door, not only was there no one there, the truck was gone and there was the nasty orange slip "Sorry we missed you!" Bullshit! You didn't miss me! You just came entirely too early for a weekend morning and didn't bother to WAIT. If it had been 5-10 minutes, ok, I can see that. But less than two? RIDICULOUS!

And for whatever reason they apparently wouldn't have my nook back at the post office in time for me to get it today, so I have to wait until Monday.

I called the number and got this whimpy guy. The following ensued after I explained everything.

Guy: I understand you are upset. We can reschedule delivery for another day when you'll need to be there or you can get it from your post office today.

Me: Really? Because my slip says Monday.

Guy: Oh, then we have to honor what that says.

Me: So I CAN'T get it today in spite of what you jsut said.

Guy: No. You have to go by what the card says. And bring picture identification. Now, what would you like to have happen?

Me: Besides getting my package which I cannot do, I would like for whoever is in charge of the carriers to at the very least tell them to give people a reasonable chance to get to the door in a multi-family brownstone or apartment building! I find it absurd that at that hour on a Saturday morning they wouldn't wait more than a minute if that. (I should add I've explained this BEFORE in this conversation.)

Guy: Again, I understand you're upset, but how can we make this right?

Me: Given that I can't get my package redelivered today or pick it up today, there isn't anything you can do apparently.

Guy: Just remember to bring your ID on...

At this point I hung up the phone. There was no point. I debated calling back and asking for a supervisor, but figured I'd just get the same response.

The worst part of all this is that I SPECIFICALLY asked at FOUR different Barnes and Nobles here in the NYC area exactly HOW the nook would be shipped and ALL FOUR said EXPLICITLY UPS. "We always use UPS for expedited shipping like this." I sent their customer service an email explaining what happened just so they know. I realize there isn't anything they can do about this situation - it's not their fault the mail carrier is an impatient fucktard - but they need to know NEVER to use this company that then uses the Postal Lack-of-Service again. Especially when they've stated UPS. It being a Saturday, I haven't heard anything back from them. Not really holding my breath that I hear anything back since, as I said, there's not much they can do at this point.

In other news...

Once I calmed down, I made my Trader Joe's run (had I gotten up early like I planned and gotten there, yes I probably would have missed the nook and still been pissed that they came before 9, but at least I wouldn't have known the fucktard didn't wait more than a few seconds) and got a couple of weeks worth of food (yes, cereal, waffles, and muffins, but oh well) for less than $20! Go me!

I rearranged the bedroom. I like it better now. I can lean against my pillows and watch tv without turning around, and at night I won't have to lay on my side. It's not totally done yet. I couldn't get inspired to attack the pile on the living room floor - stuff from the shelves that had to be removed so they could be moved. My wire shelf fell all to pieces when I tried to move it to its new place, which given my mood was NOT a fun thing. Once it's really settled, I'll take pictures.

One thing I plan to do is get one window card framed each month. That's doable. And it'll make things look so much better!!! It'll be the second half of the month, but that's ok. I just have to figure out what order to get them done in.

Tomorrow...I'll play church by ear. If I'm up in time I'll be there. Otherwise I'll just have an easy morning, then head in and take books to the library on my way to the last prom at The Marvelous Wonderettes. :( After that it'll be grab a quick bite somewhere and then it's off to Aaron's last next to normal. I didn't know it was going to be his last when I bought the ticket. I bought it when that was as far out as they were selling for the longest time.

So not ready to go back to school!!!!! :(
violet_angel: (em giggle)
Tuesday, December 29th, 2009 07:38 pm
life in suburbia continues for one more day.

we didn't do a whole lot today. i rode with mom to the post office - woohoo! excitement! we dropped the sister off at the airport around 3:30is this afternoon. haven't heard anything, so we assume she is en route. the flight that i'll be on tomorrow was delayed. big surprise. i've figured out that it's the same plane i came on on christmas (well, it may not physically be the same plane, but you know what i mean)...the one that had people waiting to board when we got here. so i'll just keep an eye on 6687 tomorrow and see how it's coming to determine if i'm going to be late or not. i'm betting on late.

i'm pretty much all packed save for the last minute stuff. as long as they don't have a problem with hot chocolate powder (nothing i've read suggests they would) i should be fine with carry-on (and check the roller at the plane as is ok on the commuter flights). tomorrow i'm going with daddy while he gets his hair cut, and then i think we're going to go to trader joe's so i can introduce him to that wonderful world! then about 3:30 it's off to the airport to wait for my plane to get in and then board and fly home.

ooh! have i mentioned the drama dialogue thingy that tdf is doing? info is here. it seems really cool! i'm signed up and can't wait!!! especially since i'll be a week into playwriting 2 at the time!!

worked a little on my play this morning and probably will do more while the parentals are watching the kennedy center thingy (ugh!) later on. after a nice hot bath that is. gotta take advantage of the tub while i'm here!!! interestingly i think a conversation i thought was going to be between catharine and max is going to be between tori and max...but i'm not sure yet. it won't be as early as i'm working on. i still need to really figure out tori...who she is and what her deal is. yay fun. (actually it is fun! it's just annoying to know that i need info the characters aren't giving me.)

i think i may do some apartment rearranging when i get home. since i'm wireless, there is absolutely no reason the desktop has to stay in my bedroom! i think it will be going to the living room, and then i can move my bed into the other corner and going in towards the center of the room rather than towards the back wall...i know, it's hard to explain. i'll take pics if i do it. that would free up some space in the room so i can work on getting a wii and something like the jillian michaels exercise program or something and do that in the bedroom. since moving the television would require the cable company coming out again and no thank you on that one!

pending funds, i may try rushing Finian's Rainbow saturday. given its numbers it may not be long for this world. not one bit surprised at the news about Ragtime. when you're not even close to sold out thanksgiving weekend, there is an issue. what's most amusing is the big article the times ran over the weekend about how it absolutely wasn't closing, that those were just "malicious rumors" and blah blah blah. well, obviously the provisional notice had in fact been given as they announced on monday that their last performance will be sunday. egg on lots of faces with that article and now essentially a retraction of it. i know some people loved it, and i never wish for people to be out of work, but...that production just didn't work for me. sorry guys!

um...i guess that's it for now. not much happens here in suburbia that's worth reporting on. lol. have a good night!
Tags:
violet_angel: (Default)
Sunday, December 27th, 2009 09:57 pm
Though somehow I have a feeling my family would have qualified as "the Stepford family" since as I like to say we're so functional we're dysfunctional. Hell, we were even laughing over dinner last night how I cried when I got my first C in college. Yes, I was that much of a geek.

Today was church at the 'rents church. Time for me to get to play "I'll just smile and pretend i have a clue who you are". It's a fun game. It was also hide from this guy named Owen who is just...weird. Somehow - in spite of Daddy telling him both Andrea and I were there - he didn't come over to see us. We did get to see Gayle, the music minister there who I have known since I was three and she baby-sat me. Good times. Then it was off to J. Alexander's for lunch. Mom and Daddy go there EVERY SUNDAY! And the crew knows them by name. Seriously. It's to the point where if they're not going to be there, Mom and Daddy will let them know so they don't worry. Luckily it's a good place to eat. :)

We got home and considered going to a movie, but that didn't happen because of time (Andrea's seeing college friends tonight) so we went to Borders. I now own both volumes of the Glee season one soundtrack!!!! SO EXCITED!

Now we're hanging out, watching The Sound of Music. Well, I'm listening because I have to be on the wired computer as whoever had the unnamed wireless we were getting sporadically locked it down (but left it unnamed) last night. :( Andrea's still out.

Tomorrow we're going to do brunch at the Loveless Cafe and then ride on some parkway before Andrea goes to more college friends' house for at least the afternoon. I think I'm introducing them to Trader Joe's as well...but we'll see. All these added security things are making planning for Tuesday (when Andrea flies back) and Wednesday (when I fly back) more difficult. but we'll figure it out.

Um...yeah. I think that's about it. :)
Tags:
violet_angel: (daughter of air)
Monday, December 21st, 2009 09:47 pm
Two days. I just have to get through two days.

We have snow on the ground. Where it isn't piled up against the curb it's pretty still. Where it is aganst the curb it's dirty and nasty...and making big old puddles at the corners because the drainage ditches are full or not taking the melt as quickly as they should. That's just gross. Luckily I've learned how to spot the puddles so I hopefully won't have to deal with getting soaked up to my knee almost again. You do that once with freezing cold nasty water and you don't forget what it looks like any time soon.

Plans for the week...
* Tuesday, just get through the day.
* Wednesday night, lottery next to normal with Susan. I'll probably do the lotto loser dealie thing if we don't win.
* Thursday morning, go to MoMA to see a special exhibit. Get my sister's present. Finish packing - carry on-able only! Not paying $30RT to check a bag. Check into my flight. Look at weather and decide if I'm going to camp at the airport after the Christmas Eve service. Go to Christmas Eve service.
*Friday, head to the airport at some point in the day (depending on weather and stuff). Fly home - should be at 3:30, home 5:30ish.

Right now my flight back on the 30th is completely full. Should I get the message we got when we checked Mom and Daddy in - that the flight is overbooked and if I would like to volunteer to take a later flight for compensation - I am totally volunteering. AS LONG AS THEY GUARANTEE ME I WILL BE BACK BY THE END OF THE DAY ON THE 2ND!! I've always wanted to be able to do that and never have been. But I've confirmed with the 'rents that it would be ok if I did, so. Yay! (Although now that I've got a plan, that obviously won't happen.)

Have I mentioned on here how over Thanksgiving Daddy said out of nowhere that he wanted to see Hair?!?!? I mean... I know he was in the whole Vietnam era - only didn't get sent because of his childhood asthma (the other guy who got pulled off the bus was told he wasn't going because he had cancer...all the others on the physical bus went straight to basic training) - but... I don't know. I just didn't think it would be his type of show. I guess if it's still running when he's up here next I'll get us tickets... I'm just sort of dreading one particular song... I mean, really... Would YOU want to be sitting next to your parental unit while someone is singing "Sodomy. Fellatio. Cunnilingus. Pederasty."????? REALLY????? I think I'd even be ok with the last scene in Act 1 - the nudity. But that song... I'm just not sure I can do it. I'm taking the cast recording home with me for Christmas...that may squelch the whole thing when he hears the music. We shall see.

Ok... So I figure now's as good a time as any to do my top 5 lists for the year. There might be more movie viewing (I only counted things I've seen in the theater) before the end of the year, and if that changes I'll let you know. But for now... My top 5 of the year in...

Theatre
1.next to normal
Really, is anyone surprised by this. THE most moving experience I've ever had in a theater. Over and over every time!
2. Max Understood
Such a beautiful, honest, heartfelt portrait of one family's struggle with autism. I wish everyone could have seen this!!!
3. God of Carnage
Seeing this play the first time - and then again - just inspired me as a playwright. I can't wait to see it with the new cast!!
4. Hair
I know! Back in May, who'd have thunk this show would end up on my top 5??? But this is proof that you CAN revisit things and have a different experience the second (and third and fourth) time you see it. (For the opposite where there's no change, see my experience at Ragtime.)
5. Dirty Blonde at Signature in Shirlington, VA
I had no idea how this play would play out when I went to see it knowing only the barest of details about it and was utterly charmed by this whole play. Another on my inspiration shelf.

Books
1. Take This Bread: A Radical Conversion by Sara Miles
Just a beautiful telling of one woman's journey to faith and action. LOVE IT AND HER!!!
2. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
Picked this up on the recommendation of a tweet from Jennifer Weiner. LOVE THIS BOOK!!!
3. Sacred Hearts by Sarah Dunant
Beautiful, haunting, transcendent. Just gorgeous. And not as predictable as I thought it was going to be.
4. At Least In The City Someone Would Hear Me Scream by Wade Rouse
Hysterical! I laughed out loud several times reading this! Which isn't always the best thing to do on the subway. (Though with a book in your hands you're slightly less batshit for doing that as when you're listening to, oh, say Emily and Alice's CDs with the hidden tracks...and the hidden tracks specifically. Then you just have things in your ears and yeah...you look batshit!)
5. Best Friends Forever by Jennifer Weiner
Something about this book just touched me. I guess it's how I feel like in a way some of what happens there could actually happen to me.

Movies
1. A Single Man
HANDS DOWN THE BEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN IN A WHILE, NOT JUST THIS YEAR!!
2. Julie and Julia
Before seeing A Single Man this was my number one movie. I do still think it's great. But it pales in comparison to the beauty and perfection that is A Single Man.
3. Whip It
I didn't expect to like this movie, and I actually did. Would I like to see Ellen Page act in another style? Sure. Her broodiness or whatever you want to call it gets old really quickly, but the movie was quirky and fun.
4. The Private Lives of Pippa Lee
Another surprise package. While not as spectacular as the first one, it's charming and really well done. How to have a movie as close to the book as possible? Let the author write the screenplay AND direct.
5. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince
I'm not sure it's my favorites of the adaptations, but I did find it well done, if a little heavy on the weepy teen angst.
(This category is largely the reason I only did 5...I only left off a couple of movies because they were so...ew. I just didn't see a lot in the theater this year.)

Um... I think I'm going to get a hot shower before Hoarders. Yes...ironic. You'd think I'd do the shower AFTER.
violet_angel: (mom...?)
Sunday, August 9th, 2009 06:58 am
Not a lot going on. Spent the day just hanging out basically. I woke up around 10, which is impressive if you know me. I am not a sleeper-inner. Never really have been. I didn't get that gene or whatever. I cleaned the kitchen ~ did the dishes, wiped off the stove both on top AND underneath the top, wiped out the oven a little, cleaned the top of the fridge. Yay. Cleaned the bathroom...or at least the toilet. Yay.

I'd made a list of things I have to do before going to the beach. I thought most of them would have to be done on the 14th...either in the afternoon after school or after I get home from hanging out with Sharon (? I think that's still happening...we have show tickets anyway...). I've managed to get more done than I intended. I got some CD-Rs and burned the CDs I'm taking for car time and the CD player we'll have in the house and others aren't around and watching TV ~ that eliminated one stop and staying up to burn those on the 14th. I got the card I needed to get and one book at Borders ~ thanks to Bucks, only had to pay for the card. There are still three books I'd like to get. I'm thinking a B&N run may work for those...maybe on the way up to meet Sharon? I've still got part of my gift card from Andrea, plus I have membership there so I'd get a discount. Maybe I can reserve for in-store pick up so I don't have to go looking. Those aren't absolute necessity, but it would be nice to have them. I was able to go to Petco and get a hanging seed treat for the bird for while I'm gone. And today I got my clothes packed. I've got enough t-shirts and stuff I can get by for the next week and have enough to take. And I have enough underwear I could pack and have enough to take. So basically? I just have to put in my glasses and an extra (old so only if emergency) pair of contacts and a couple of bras and I'm good to go there. In my carry-on even! I'd already decided I was going to try and not have to check something. That way I can get an actual breakfast when I get there rather than a snack at Starbucks which I have to hold while trying to maneuver my bag off the belt at baggage claim. And there's a Body Shop at the Charlotte airport, so I can grab some stuff there and only have to get a couple of things at the beach. I don't mind checking on the return trip if I have to. So really the only hectic part of the 14th is going to be going into Manhattan from school, depositing the paycheck, getting cash and a money order, coming back and dropping the money order off, then heading back int Manhattan. The things that need to be paid can be paid online and can actually be done even before school since that's also a regular pay day. w00t! I may be able to take a nap before leaving for the airport after all! (And in the girly TMI department, my body's cooperating by getting something over with NOW rather than later on in the week when there could be carry-over. w00t! Well, as w00t as THAT can be.)

Other shit continues much as I've discussed before. I simply don't understand why or how people are so cruel for no reason. One friend still thinks that the intended target is someone else, but enough things have been said I'm not really believing that one. At least I've had a couple of people defend me. I finally brought it up to someone ~ not one of the usual suspects who are apparently incommunicado right now ~ and the reaction was "Are you crazy????" and further reassurance, so that made me feel a little better. But jeez...I thought I left all that shit back in high school. Guess I thought wrong. I don't know...I'm beginning to think seriously about finding a therapist once school starts. Maybe it would be a good thing... We'll see. I guess I just don't feel like I've got that much to talk about...I'm pretty boring other than when shit starts up. Or I think I'm pretty boring. Who knows. We'll see what happens.

Today's the 2-year anniversary of my Grandaddy's death. That could also explain why I've felt a little off the past couple of days. Alabanza Grandaddy! I love you!!

I've actually managed to make it cold in the apartment. But I don't want to turn the air off...it heats up quickly and takes a while to cool down. Maybe I'll go turn it down a little. And I definitely need to try and make it to church in the morning. LOL. I'm so bad.

I have an idea to do more writing on here that's legit writing and not just babbling about my day. I'll probably start that after the beach since I'll have limited if any access to a computer that week.
Tags: